THE PARADOX OF VERTICAL FLIGHT

THE PARADOX OF VERTICAL FLIGHT

Editorial:
HARPER
Materia
+ 16 Jóvenes adultos
ISBN:
978-0-06-223852-8
Páginas:
256
Encuadernación:
Cartoné
Disponibilidad:
Disponibilidad inmediata

What happens when you put a suicidal eighteen-year-old philosophy student, his ex-girlfriend, his best friend, and his newborn baby in a truck and send them to Grandma's house? This debut novel by Emil Ostrovski will appeal to fans of John Green, Chris Crutcher, and Jay Asher.

On the morning of his eighteenth birthday, philosophy student and high school senior Jack Polovsky is somewhat seriously thinking of suicide when his cell phone rings. Jack's ex-girlfriend, Jess, has given birth, and Jack is the father. Jack hasn't spoken with Jess in about nine months—and she wants him to see the baby before he is adopted. The new teenage father kidnaps the baby, names him Socrates, stocks up on baby supplies at Wal-Mart, and hits the road with his best friend, Tommy, and the ex-girlfriend. As they head to Grandma's house (eluding the police at every turn), Jack tells baby Socrates about Homer, Troy, Aristotle, the real Socrates, and the Greek myths—because all stories spring from those stories, really. Even this one. Funny, heart-wrenching, and wholly original, this debut novel by Emil Ostrovski explores the nature of family, love, friendship, fate, fatherhood, and myth.

Otros libros del autor

  • EL PRIMER VIAJE DE SÓCRATES
    ebook
    Titulo del libro
    EL PRIMER VIAJE DE SÓCRATES
    EMIL OSTROVSKI
    Me llamo Sócrates y siempre he sabido que soy adoptado. Pero hasta hoy, ignoraba cómo fue todo... Según me han conta...

    Q. 123